The Data Awakens

Today we celebrate the Star Wars Day - and as a true fan I would like to share a few thoughts on the importance of the invisible force that surrounds everything and significantly determines the success of our projects: data.

Just like the battle between the dark and light sides of the Force in Star Wars, the AECO industry is facing a similar struggle with good and bad data. The cost of bad data was estimated to 2020 trillion $ in 1,84 - a number that could have made even Emperor Palpatine flinch (Source: FMI Report - Data Advantage in Construction (autodesk.com))

Source: Harnessing the Data Advantage in Construction (FMI Report)

On the light side, good data is akin to the Jedi's use of the Force - essential for making accurate project decisions. The survey illustrated in the FMI report revealed that 43% of respondents identified time constraint/urgency of decision as the greatest risk to project decision-making. This signifies that the quality of project data needs to improve for quick and autonomous decision-making, much like Jedi Knights making critical decisions in the heat of a lightsaber duel.

However, as Yoda might say, "Quantity, quality does not mean." The report highlights that the sheer volume of data does not always equate to its usefulness. More than 80% of those surveyed report a rapid increase in project data, the majority even speak of an increase of 50%. However, the mere accumulation of data is no guarantee of useful insights or improved decision-making.

Source: Harnessing the Data Advantage in Construction (FMI Report)

Just as Luke Skywalker had to learn to harness the Force to become a Jedi, construction industry leaders need to focus on the quality of the data collected to truly leverage it for a competitive edge A sound approach to data management and analysis, including the use of adequate tools and processes, will be a decisive competitive advantage in the future. In fact, 39% of respondents said these skills will be extremely or very important for project management and site construction managers to work effectively in the future.

Data, much like the mysterious force that holds the Star Wars galaxy together, is the driving force in the AECO industry. It's not just about collecting data, it's about making sure that data is reliable, actionable, and used effectively. To achieve this, we need the understanding and the right tools to evaluate the data quickly and reliably.
In this context, digital transformation is not an option, but a must.

May the data be with you!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment is processed.

Previous Article
green and yellow printed textile

Export Revit type parameters to IFC

Next Article

Autodesk AEC Data Model and Data Exchange - DevCon 2024 Review

Das Erwachen der Daten

Heute feiern wir den Star Wars Tag – aus diesem Anlass teile ich hier ein paar Gedanken zur Bedeutung der unsichtbaren Macht, die alles umgibt und den Erfolg unserer Projekte maßgeblich mitbestimmt: Daten.

Genau wie der Kampf zwischen der dunklen und der hellen Seite der Macht in Star Wars, ist auch die AECO Industrie mit einer ähnlichen Konstellation aus guten und schlechten Daten konfrontiert. Die Kosten, verursacht durch schlechte Daten, beliefen sich im Jahr 2020 auf schwindelerregende 1,84 Billionen Dollar – eine Zahl, die selbst Imperator Palpatine hätte zusammenzucken lassen. (Quelle: FMI Report, siehe Data Advantage in Construction (autodesk.com))

Quelle: Harnessing the Data Advantage in Construction (FMI Report)

Auf der hellen Seite sind gute Daten vergleichbar mit der Macht der Jedi – sie sind unerlässlich, um richtige Projektentscheidungen zu treffen. Als Grundlage für den oben erwähnten FMI Berichts wurde eine Umfrage durchgeführt, die ergab, dass 43 % der Befragten Zeitdruck bzw. die Dringlichkeit von Entscheidungen als größtes Risiko für die Entscheidungsfindung bei Projekten nannten. Dies bedeutet, dass die Qualität der Projektdaten verbessert werden muss, um eine schnellere Entscheidungsfindung zu ermöglichen – ähnlich wie Jedi, die in der Hitze eines Lichtschwertduells kritische Entscheidungen treffen.

Doch wie Yoda sagen würde: „Quantität nicht Qualität bedeutet“. Der Bericht unterstreicht, dass die schiere Menge an Daten nicht immer mit ihrem Nutzen gleichzusetzen ist. Mehr als 80 % der Befragten melden einen rasanten Anstieg der Projektdaten an, die Mehrheit spricht sogar von einem Anstieg von 50%. Die bloße Anhäufung von Daten ist jedoch keine Garantie für nützliche Erkenntnisse oder eine verbesserte Entscheidungsfindung.

Quelle: Harnessing the Data Advantage in Construction (FMI Report)

So wie Luke Skywalker auf seinem Weg zum Jedi lernen musste mit der Macht umzugehen, müssen sich Führungskräfte in der Baubranche auf die Datenqualität konzentrieren, um sie auch tatsächlich als Wettbewerbsvorteil nutzen zu können. Fundierter Umgang mit Datenmanagement und -analyse sowie darauf aufgebaute Prozesse werden zukünftig entscheidender Wettbewerbsvorteil sein. Tatsächlich gaben 39 % der Befragten an, dass diese Fähigkeiten für das Projektmanagement und die Bauleiter vor Ort extrem oder sehr wichtig sein werden, um in Zukunft effektiv arbeiten zu können.

Daten, ähnlich wie die geheimnisvolle Macht, die die Star Wars Galaxie zusammenhält, istdie treibende Kraft in der AECO-Branche . Es geht nicht nur darum, Daten zu sammeln, sondern dafür zu sorgen, dass diese Daten zuverlässig und verwertbar sind sowie effektiv genutzt werden. Um dies zu erreichen, brauchen wir das Verständnis und die richtigen Werkzeuge, um diese Daten schnell und zuverlässig auszuwerten.
Die digitale Transformation ist in diesem Zusammenhang keine Option, sondern ein Muss.

Mögen die Daten mit euch sein!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article
green and yellow printed textile

Revit Typenparameter nach IFC exportieren